In addition to the add, change and delete permissions
automatically created, the default
Entry model provides three
extra permissions. These permissions will be used in the admin site to
provide a collaborative work feature when creating and editing the
entries. You can use these permissions in your custom views and templates
and of course change the list of Entry’s permissions by
Extending Entry model.
django.db.models.Options.permissions for more information about
the permissions on the Django models.
Now let’s move on to the descriptions and implementations of these permissions.
Can view all entries¶
In the admin site, this permission is used to limit the entries displayed and editable by a staff member. If the user does not have this permission, only his own entries will be editable. It’s particulary useful when you have multiple authors and you don’t want them to be allowed to share the entries
Can change status¶
Thanks to this permission, a user can change the status of an entry. If the
user is not granted with this permission, he will be able to create entries
but they will remain in the
DRAFT status until someone granted with this
permission changes the status to
Or you can let an user edit your entries without letting him change the publication status.